Let’s Go Places: Thailand (Prologue)

I decided to create this for two reasons. The first, is to help give future EFL instructors first-hand accounts from my perspective teaching in the areas I am going. This idea came about when I was researching the region and school I am assigned to in Thailand. There was surprisingly little in terms of first-hand accounts of experiences here. The most in-depth experience of teaching in the Sakon Nakhon area came from a blog that I will link here (because we all need more than one perspective):

Part I: http://ryanrobert7.blogspot.com/2015/12/welcome-to-sakolrajwittayanukul-school.html

Part II: http://ryanrobert7.blogspot.com/2015/12/welcome-to-sakolrajwittayanukul-school_11.html

Dilemma: http://ryanrobert7.blogspot.com/2016/02/could-do-versus-should-do.html

Grading: http://ryanrobert7.blogspot.com/2016/03/schools-final-day.html

The second is to remember my own EFL adventure to Thailand. Today I had a tutoring session with an ELL student. We were talking about where I was going to teach in Thailand and I wrote down the name of the school I would be teaching at (because I cannot say it to save my life). Sakolrajwittayanukul. Her eyes got wide and she started to laugh. “That’s not a name, that’s a whole sentence! It’s so long!” I must say, I completely agree with her.

I hope that I can keep up with this blog and I hope that it will be useful to anyone looking for information about teaching in the regions I end up. I imagine that, in the future, this will end up as a travel blog, ultimately. However, my track record for upkeeping such sites is less than stellar. I’m optimistic now, but let’s give it a minute to evolve into something realistic. Are you ready for this?

Geronimo!

This entry was posted in Let's Go Places: Thailand and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

